Committee Leaders

Committee 1 – Roadway & Ballast

Chair

Richard C. Zaluski, II

Asst. Chief Engineer - Construction

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: rczalusk@nscorp.com

Vice Chair

Terrance M. Bodine, PE

Director of Rail Services

Patrick Engineering Inc.

Email: tbodine@patrickco.com

Secretary

Christopher S. Moale, PE

Engineer Standards

CSX Transportation

Email: chris_moale@csx.com

Committee 2 - Track Measurement and Assessment Systems 

Chair

Stephen S. Woody

Mgr Technology Development

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: stephen.woody@nscorp.com

Vice Chair

Matthew G. Dick, P.E.

Deputy Division Manager

ENSCO, Inc.

Email: dick.matthew@ensco.com

Secretary

Josh McBain

Manager - Train Dynamics

BNSF Railway

Email: joshua.mcbain@bnsf.com

Committee 4 – Rail

Chair

Stephen E. Lakata

Project Engineering Specialist

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: selakata@nscorp.com

Vice Chair

Mark E. Austin, PE

Director Engineering Services

CSX Transportation

Email: mark_e_austin@csx.com

Secretary

John Furlong

Director Track Systems

Canadian Pacific

Email: john_furlong@cpr.ca

Committee 5 - Track

Chair

David C. Clark, PE

Director Construction Engineering

CSX Transportation

Email: David_Clark@csx.com

Vice Chair

Patrick Halsted

General Director Design

Union Pacific Railroad

Email: pahalste@up.com

Secretary

Dan Voelkerding

Supervisor RFD Operations

Canadian National Railway

Email: dan.voelkerding@cn.ca

Committee 6 - Building & Support Facilities

Chair

Glen E. Smith, PE

Chief Mechanical Engineer - Rail

Argus Consulting, Inc.

Email: gsmith@argusconsulting.com

Vice Chair

Christopher Rand, PE

Prog Manager, Rail Facilities

HDR

Email: chris.rand@hdrinc.com

Secretary

John D. Lyon, AIA

Senior Architect

FVHD Architects-Planners

Email: johnlyon1@verizon.net

Committee 7 – Timber Structures

Chair

Walter F. Bleser, II, PE

President

SENSR

Email: Walt.Bleser@SENSR.com

Vice Chair

Christopher R. Frank

AVP Engineering

Genesee & Wyoming Inc.

Email: cfrank@gwrr.com

Secretary

Stephanie E. Swanson, P.E.

Engineer Bridge Inspection

BNSF Railway

Email: stephanie.swanson@bnsf.com

Committee 8 – Concrete Structures & Foundations

Chair

Wladyslaw W. Rymsza, PE

Vice President/Dir of RR Structures

Alfred Benesch & Company

Email: wrymsza@benesch.com

Vice Chair

Bret M. Farmer, PE

Vice President - Rail

TKDA

Email: bret.farmer@tkda.com

Vice Chair

Jason C. Hale, PE

Supervisor Structures

BNSF Railway

Email: Jason.Hale@bnsf.com

Secretary

Shawn L. Goetz, PE, SE

Vice President

Hanson Professional Services Inc.

Email: sgoetz@hanson-inc.com

Committee 9 – Seismic Design for Railway Structures

Chair

Tomasz J. Gawronski, PE

N&W Director Bridge Construction

Union Pacific Railroad

Email: tjgawron@up.com

Vice Chair

Michael T. Dooley, PE, SE

Senior Vice President

ESCA Consultants, Inc.

Email: mtd@escaconsultants.com

Secretary

Craig Rolwood, PE

Rail Project Manager

Hardesty & Hanover, LLC

Email: CraigRolwoodPE@hotmail.com

Committee 10 – Structures Maintenance & Construction

Chair

David J. Bonas

Regional Engineer Structures

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: david.bonas@nscorp.com

Vice Chair

Mark W. Shafer, PE

Senior Bridge Engineer

HDR

Email: mark.shafer@hdrinc.com

Secretary

Nila Abubakar, PE

Senior Staff Consultant

Engineering Systems, Inc.

Email: nabubakar@engsys.com

Committee 11 - Commuter & Intercity Rail Systems

Chair

Sean P. Kullen, PE

Senior Rail Engineer

VHB, Inc.

Email: skullen@VHB.com

Vice Chair

Ronald D. O'Blenis, PE

Senior Rail Project Manager

Email: rdoiii@fastmail.fm

Secretary

Allene B. Rieger, PE

Assistant Vice President

TranSystems Corporation

Email: abrieger@transystems.com

Committee 12 - Rail Transit

Chair

Jeff Keating, PE

Senior Associate, Rail & Transit

Lochner

Email: jkeating57@gmail.com

Vice Chair

Scott L. Hudson, PE

Sr. Transit and Rail Manager

WSP USA Corporation

Email: scott.hudson@wsp.com

Secretary

Peter W. Fedun, PE

Senior Project Manager

HDR

Email: peter.fedun@hdrinc.com

Committee 13 - Environmental

Chair

Leo B. Thorbecke

Vice President

TRC Companies

Email: LThorbecke@trcsolutions.com

Secretary

Peter T. Masson

Consultant

Antea Group

Email: peter.masson@anteagroup.com

Committee 14 - Yards & Terminals

Chair

Michael Atzert, PE

Engineer

Design Nine, Inc.

Email: mpatzert@design9.com

Vice Chair

Michael J. Zucker, PE

Program Manager

Union Pacific Railroad

Email: mjzucker@up.com

Secretary

Levi J. Turner, PE

Project Manager

David Evans and Associates

Email: ljt@deainc.com

Committee 15 – Steel Structures

Chair

Ronald G. Berry, PE

General Director Structures

BNSF Railway

Email: ronald.berry@bnsf.com

Vice Chair

Steven P. Lorek, PE

Rail Section Manager

HDR

Email: steve.lorek@hdrinc.com

Secretary

Gary S. Powell, PE, SE

Structural Engineering Manager

Stantec Consulting Services Inc.

Email: gary.powell@stantec.com

Committee 16 - Economics of Railway Engineering & Operations

Chair

Michael D. Will

Dir Engineering Cost

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: mike.will@nscorp.com

Vice Chair

Michael K. Couse

District Manager, Rail

AECOM

Email: michael.couse@aecom.com

Secretary

Timothy D. Robinson

EIT-Transportation Planning

Canadian National Railway

Email: timothy.robinson@cn.ca

Committee 17 - High Speed Rail Systems

Chair

Lucas A. Bathurst, PE

Vice President

HDR

Email: lucas.bathurst@hdrinc.com

Vice Chair

Krista L. Keene

Senior Manager

Amtrak

Email: krista.keene@amtrak.com

Secretary

Jonathan M. Wnek, PE

Project Engineer - Rail

Jacobs Engineering

Email: jonathan.wnek@jacobs.com

Committee 18 - Light Density & Short Line Railways

Chair

William S. Stahlman, III, PE

Director of Engineering & Construction

America's Central Port

Email: bstahlman@americascentralport.com

Vice Chair

Daniel Tegtmeier, PE

Project Engineer

Iowa Northern Railway Company

Email: dtegtmeier@iowanorthern.com

Secretary

Charles M. Tucker

Project Manager

Farnsworth Group, Inc.

Email: ctucker@f-w.com

Committee 24 - Education & Training

Chair

Cassandra M. Gouger, PE

Program Manager

Union Pacific Railroad

Email: cmgouger@up.com

Vice Chair

Ashley Pate

TranSystems Corporation

Email: akpate@transystems.com

Vice Chair

Kenneth E. Rusk

Principal

Kenneth Rusk & Associates, LLC

Email: kenneth.rusk.consulting@gmail.com

Secretary

John G. Green, PhD, PE

Senior Project Manager - Rail

Mott MacDonald

Email: john.green3@mottmac.com

Committee 27 - Maintenance of Way Work Equipment

Chair

K. Dexter Roberts

Chief Engineer Maintenance Equipment

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: dexter.roberts@nscorp.com

Vice Chair

Joseph Przybylowicz

Equipment Manager SPT

CSX Transportation

Email: Joseph_przybylowicz@csx.com

Secretary

Philip D. Bissette

General Shop Superintendent

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: philip.bissette@nscorp.com

Committee 28 – Clearances

Chair

Joseph B. Boehle

AVP Marketing

Kasgro Rail Corporation

Email: jboehle@kasgro.com

Vice Chair

Kevin O. Casey

Manager - Clearances

Amtrak

Email: caseyk@amtrak.com

Committee 30 - Ties

Chair

Scott Tripple

Manager, Track Projects

Pandrol USA

Email: s.tripple@pandrolusa.com

Vice Chair

Marcus S. Dersch, PE

Senior Research Engineer

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Email: mdersch2@illinois.edu

Secretary

Steven Melniczuk

Sr Engineer of Specs and Inspections

Amtrak

Email: steven.melniczuk@amtrak.com

Committee 33 - Electric Energy Utilization

Chair

Ruth Lu

Manager of OCS

WSP

Email: Ruth.Lu@wsp.com

Vice Chair

William Pollak

Chief Engineer-Electrical

New Jersey Transit

Email: wpollak@njtransit.com

Secretary

Jonathan C. Schmidt, PE

Associate Vice President

AECOM

Email: jon.schmidt@aecom.com

Committee 34 – Scales

Chair

David E. Gogolin

Superintendent of Scales

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: dave.gogolin@nscorp.com

Vice Chair

Damon A. Smith

Dir Engineering Standards

CSX Transportation

Email:

Secretary

Shawn C. Good

Sr. Director of Scale Services

Rail Scale, Inc.

Email: shawn@railscale.com

Committee 36 – Highway-Rail Grade Crossing Warning Systems

Chair

John T. Sharkey, PE

VP-Signal Systems (Chicago)

CTC Inc.

Email: JSharkey@ctcinc.com

Vice Chair

Stephen J. Klinger

Administrator Grade Crossing Program

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: stephen.klinger@nscorp.com

Secretary

Dale R. Hill

Manager Industry and Public Projs

Union Pacific Railroad

Email: drhill@up.com

Committee 37 – Positive Train Control

Chair

E. Keith Holt

Director of Engineering Railroad Systems

WSP USA Corporation

Email: Keith.Holt@wsp.com

Vice Chair

Vincent Yale

Asst Div Engr C&S MAD-South

Amtrak

Email: yalev@amtrak.com

Secretary

Mike Paulson

Dir of Industry and Key Accounts Mgmt

Weidmuller Interconnections

Email: mpaulson@weidmuller.com

Committee 38 – Information, Defect Detection & Energy Systems

Chair

Gilbert D. Barnes

Director Hump Yard Eng

CSX Transportation

Email: Gil_Barnes@csx.com

Vice Chair

John D. Danyluk

Dir. Enterprise Accts.

iNemSoft

Email: john@danyluk.com

Secretary

Paul E. Younger

President

Nebraska Signal Design & Support

Email: paulyounger@epbfi.com

Committee 39 – Positive Train Control

Chair

Kent Shue

Engineer Systems III - Signal R&D

BNSF Railway

Email: kent.shue@bnsf.com

Vice Chair

Paul J. Mikols

Spvr Signal

BNSF Railway

Email: Paul.Mikols@bnsf.com

Secretary

Bennett R. Feely

Senior Specialist - Signaling & Train Control

Mott MacDonald

Email: brfeely@verizon.net

Committee 40 – Engineering Safety

Chair

Matthew R. Porto

Director, System Safety

Amtrak

Email: matthew.porto@amtrak.com

Vice Chair

Edwin B. Frazier, Jr.

Railroad Health & Safety Mgr

HDR

Email: efrazier@hdrinc.com

Committee 41 – Track Maintenance

Chair

Gary M. Noto

Retired

Amtrak

Email: notog12@yahoo.com

Vice Chair

Matthew D. Davidson

Asst. Division Engineer

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: matthew.davidson@nscorp.com

Vice Chair

Matthew B. Moore, PE

President

NICE Rail Products

Email: matt.moore@nicerailproducts.com

Secretary

James K. Lewis

Senior Engineer of Track

Amtrak

Email: lewisjame@amtrak.com

Committee 43 – Signals Maintenance

Chair

Chip Sprouse

Manager Signal Design

CSX Transportation

Email: chip_sprouse@csx.com

Vice Chair

Shawn Ball

Asst Division Engr-Comm and Sig

CSX Transportation

Email: shawn_ball@csx.com