AREMA Functional Group Board of Directors

Senior Vice President

Profile Photo

James K. Kessler, PE

Senior Vice President - 2017-2018

VP-Engineering and Planning

North Carolina Railroad Company

Email: jimkessler@ncrr.com

Communications & Signals

Robin J. Aanenson

Functional Group Vice President – 2016-2019

Director In-Service Testing

Railroad Controls, a WABTEC Company

Email: raanenson@wabtec.com

Profile Photo

Jerry W. Specht, EIT

Director – 2016-2020

Director of Signal Engineering

BNSF Railway

Email: Jerry.Specht@BNSF.com

Brian L. Sykes

Director – 2015-2018

Chief Engr, C&S Engineering

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: brian.sykes@nscorp.com

Engineering Services

Michael T. Mischke

Functional Group Vice President – 2015-2018

Consulting System Engineer, Technology Svcs.

BNSF Railway

Email: michael.mischke@bnsf.com

Michael A. Pochop

Director – 2017-2020

Vice President

Hanson Professional Services Inc.

Email: mpochop@hanson-inc.com

Michael K. Williams, PE

Director – 2015-2019

Director, Industrial Engineering

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: michael.williams@nscorp.com

Maintenance

Stephen J. Ashmore

Functional Group Vice President – 2017-2020

Engineering Senior Manager Ties and Roadbed

Union Pacific Railroad

Email: sjashmor@up.com

Richard J. Spatafore

Director – 2017-2019

Director of Program Construction (Ret)

CSX Transportation

Email: rjspatafore@gmail.com

Passenger & Transit

Raymond G. Verrelle, Jr., PE

Functional Group Vice President – 2016-2019

Deputy Chief Engr Electric Traction

Amtrak

Email: verrelr@amtrak.com

Francis J. Miller, III, PE

Director – 2016-2018

Sr Associate/Engineering Chief

STV Incorporated

Email: francis.miller@stvinc.com

Profile Photo

Keith L. Powley, CCM

Director – 2017-2020

Senior Transportation Program Manager

CDM Smith

Email: powleykl@cdmsmith.com

Structures

Michael P. Freeman, PE

Functional Group Vice President – 2017-2020

Dir Structures Design

Union Pacific Railroad

Email: michaelpfreeman@up.com

William S. Riehl, III, PE, F.SAME

Director – 2017-2019

VP Structures

Genesee & Wyoming Inc.

Email: bill.riehl@gwrr.com

Willis S. White, III, PE

Director – 2015-2018

Proj Mgr/Senior Engr/Associate

STV/Ralph Whitehead Associates

Email: bill.white@stvinc.com

Track

Conrad Ruppert, Jr.

Functional Group Vice President – 2016-2019

Sr Research Engr/Assoc Dir for Research

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Email: ruppertc@illinois.edu

Profile Photo

Kevin D. Hicks, PE

Director – 2017-2020

Assistant Vice President Engineering - Design

Union Pacific Railroad

Email: kdhicks@up.com

Karen J. Horiszny

Director – 2015-2018

Project Manager II

Alfred Benesch & Company

Email: khoriszny@benesch.com

Executive Director/CEO and Corporate Secretary

Profile Photo

Elizabeth Caruso, CAE

Executive Director

Executive Director/CEO

AREMA

Email: bcaruso@arema.org