Committee Leaders

Committee 1 – Roadway & Ballast

Class of 2024

Chair

Christopher S. Moale, PE

Senior Consultant

Engineering Systems, Inc.

Email: csmoale@engsys.com

Vice Chair

Eric J. Frostestad, PE

Sr Railroad Project Engineer

HDR

Email: eric.frostestad@hdrinc.com

Secretary

Shawn R. Coombs, PE

Federal Engineering Manager

Advanced Drainage Systems, Inc.

Email: shawn.coombs@adspipe.com

Committee 2 - Track Measurement and Assessment Systems 

Class of 2025

Chair

Josh McBain

Sr. Manager- Advanced Inspection and Equipment Automation

BNSF Railway

Email: joshua.mcbain@bnsf.com

Vice Chair

Lariza Stewart

Senior Project Manager

ENSCO, Inc.

Email: stewart.lariza@ensco.com

Secretary

Timothy Boland

Sr. Manager Engineering Systems

Union Pacific

Email: tjboland@up.com

Committee 4 – Rail

Class of 2024

Chair

John Furlong

Director Track Systems

Canadian Pacific

Email: john_furlong@cpr.ca

Vice Chair

W. Brian Mullins

Mgr Rail Welding

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: brian.mullins@nscorp.com

Secretary

Anna Albers

Senior Engineer - Track

Amtrak

Email: anna.albers@amtrak.com

Committee 5 - Track

Class of 2024

Chair

Karen J. Horiszny

Project Manager II

Alfred Benesch & Company

Email: khoriszny@benesch.com

Vice Chair

Joshua Brass

Chief Engineer Capital

CSX Transportation

Email: josh_brass@csx.com

Secretary

Donald H. Arant, PE

Vice President-Engineering

North Carolina Railroad Company

Email: donaldarant@ncrr.com

Committee 6 - Rail Facilities, Utilities and Buildings

Class of 2024

Chair

Ryan J. Gottsch, PE

Principal Project Manager/Transit & Rail Facilities Lead

Jacobs

Email: Ryan.Gottsch@Jacobs.com

Vice Chair

Alois J. Kostelnik, PE

Principal Engineer

ARCADIS

Email: Al.Kostelnik@arcadis.com

Secretary

Derek Brown, PE

Manager Engineering

BNSF Railway

Email: derek.brown3@bnsf.com

Committee 7 – Timber Structures

Class of 2025

Chair

Stephanie E. Swanson, PE

Asst Dir Bridge Maintenance

BNSF Railway

Email: stephanie.swanson@bnsf.com

Vice Chair

Jonathan Winer, PE

Project Manager

Alfred Benesch & Company

Email: jwiner@benesch.com

Secretary

Ashley Cook, PE

Bridge Engineer

HNTB Corporation

Email: acook@hntb.com

Committee 8 – Concrete Structures & Foundations

Class of 2024

Chair

Jason C. Hale, PE

Asst Director Bridge Inspection & Maintenance

BNSF Railway

Email: Jason.Hale@bnsf.com

Vice Chair

Paul B. Michiels, PE

Owner/Consultant

PBM Consultant Services+ LLC

Email: pbmichiels@verizon.net

Vice Chair

Damian Wallner

Senior Manager of Structures Design

Union Pacific

Email: dgwallne@up.com

Secretary

Lisa Hoekenga, PE, SE

Rail Department Manager

Michael Baker International

Email: lisa.hoekenga@mbakerintl.com

Committee 9 – Seismic Design for Railway Structures

Class of 2024

Chair

Steven R. Williams, PE

AVP Engineering

ARE Corporation

Email: swilliams@are-corp.com

Vice Chair

Sean Cooney, PE

Senior Project Manager - Rail and Movable Bridge

HNTB Corporation

Email: scooney@hntb.com

Secretary

Mark Giesmann, PE

NE/IA Freight Rail Structures Section Manager

HDR

Email: mark.giesmann@hdrinc.com

Committee 10 – Structures Maintenance & Construction

Class of 2022

Chair

Nila Abubakar, PE

Senior Consultant

Engineering Systems, Inc.

Email: nabubakar@engsys.com

Vice Chair

Michael Schaefer

Assist Dir Br Const

BNSF Railway

Email: michael.schaefer2@bnsf.com

Secretary

Rebecca Wingate, PE

Associate

Cambridge Systematics, Inc.

Email: rwingate@camsys.com

Committee 11 - Commuter & Intercity Rail Systems

Class of 2023

Chair

Allene B. Rieger, PE

Sr. Civil Engineer

JMA Civil, Inc.

Email: arieger@jmacivil.com

Vice Chair

Amanda Kessler, PE

Manager Reference Surfacing

Amtrak

Email: amanda.kessler@amtrak.com

Secretary

Michael Fields

Principal Project Manager

Amtrak

Email: fieldsm@amtrak.com

Committee 12 - Rail Transit

Class of 2023

Chair

Scott L. Hudson, PE

General Director, Track Design

BNSF Railway

Email: scott.hudson@bnsf.com

Vice Chair

Peter W. Fedun, PE

Email: peter.fedun@kkcsworld.com

Secretary

Lucas Reed, PE

Rail Operations Manager

Wilson & Company, Inc.

Email: Lucas.Reed@wilsonco.com

Committee 13 - Environmental

Class of 2024

Chair

Kari J. Harris, CPESC

Mgr, Environmental Impact

CN

Email: kari.harris@cn.ca

Vice Chair

Peter T. Masson

Senior Consultant

WSP

Email: peter.masson@wsp.com

Secretary

Matt A. Williams, PE, PMP

Senior Program Manager

Amtrak

Email: matthew.williams@amtrak.com

Committee 14 - Yards & Terminals

Class of 2025

Chair

Kirsten N. Bowen, PE

Vice President/National Freight Rail Lead

Michael Baker International

Email: knbowen@mbakerintl.com

Vice Chair

L. Brack Brown, PE

System Engineer Design

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: leslie.brown@nscorp.com

Secretary

Darwin H. Schafer, II, PE

Railroad Civil Group Manager

Alfred Benesch & Company

Email: dschafer@benesch.com

Committee 15 – Steel Structures

Class of 2023

Chair

Steven P. Lorek, PE

Railroad Division Manager

Alfred Benesch & Company

Email: slorek@benesch.com

Vice Chair

Ruth V. Brown, PE

Chief Engineer Bridges & Structures

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: ruth.brown@nscorp.com

Secretary

Gary S. Powell, SE

Retired

Stantec (retired)

Email: gsphawk@comcast.net

Committee 16 - Economics of Railway Engineering & Operations

Class of 2023

Chair

Michael K. Couse

Roadway Worker Protection Services

Twin Cities & Western Railroad

Email: couse2835@comcast.net

Vice Chair

Timothy D. Robinson, P.Eng.

Transportation Supervisor

Canadian National Railway

Email: timothy.robinson@cn.ca

Secretary

C. Tyler Dick, PhD, PE

Assistant Professor

University of Texas At Austin

Email: ctdick@utexas.edu

Committee 17 - High Speed Rail Systems

Class of 2024

Chair

Jonathan M. Wnek, PE

Project Manager

RailPros

Email: jonathan.wnek@railpros.com

Vice Chair

Skylar M. Leach

Assist Production Engineer - High Speed Surfacing/Tamping

Amtrak

Email: skylar.leach@amtrak.com

Secretary

Daniel J. Seery, PE

Senior Trackwork Engineer

HNTB Corporation

Email: dseery@hntb.com

Committee 18 - Light Density & Short Line Railways

Class of 2023

Chair

Daniel Tegtmeier, PE

Project Engineer

Iowa Northern Railway Company

Email: dtegtmeier@iowanorthern.com

Vice Chair

Charles M. Tucker

Project Manager

Farnsworth Group, Inc.

Email: ctucker@f-w.com

Secretary

Lucas J. Brewer

Senior Project Manager

Colliers Engineering & Design

Email: lbrewer@bergmannpc.com

Committee 24 - Education & Training

Class of 2025

Chair

John G. Green, PhD, PE

Part-time Professor and Researcher

California State University-Fresno

Email: johngreen@mail.fresnostate.edu

Vice Chair

Matthew E. Chrapek, PE

Structural Engineer - Maintenance of Way

Metro St. Louis

Email: MEChrapek@MetroStLouis.org

Vice Chair (NV)

Ronald S. Pixler

Technical Training Officer

Canadian National Railway

Email: ronald.pixler@cn.ca

Secretary

Nicolas R. Kern, PE

Kimley-Horn

Email: nicolas.kern@kimley-horn.com

Committee 27 - Maintenance of Way Work Equipment

Class of 2025

Chair

Joseph Przybylowicz

Manager Work Equipment II

CSX Transportation

Email: Joseph_przybylowicz@csx.com

Vice Chair

Philip D. Bissette

Chief Engineer - Maintenance Equipment

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: philip.bissette@nscorp.com

Secretary

Matthew Albanese

Asst Chief Engineer

Metro North Railroad

Email: malbanese@mnr.org

Committee 28 – Clearances

Class of 2024

Chair

Joseph B. Boehle

AVP Marketing

Kasgro Rail Corporation

Email: jboehle@kasgro.com

Vice Chair

Greg McComas, Jr.

Clearance Manager

BNSF Railway

Email: gregory.mccomas@bnsf.com

Committee 30 - Ties

Class of 2023

Chair

Marcus S. Dersch, PE

Principal Research Engineer

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Email: mdersch2@illinois.edu

Vice Chair

Steven Melniczuk

Manager, Engineering Production

Amtrak

Email: steven.melniczuk@amtrak.com

Secretary (NV)

Ricardo J. Quiros Orozco

Rail Fixation Engineer

Voestalpine Railway Systems Nortrak

Email: ricardo.quiros@voestalpine.com

Committee 33 - Electric Energy Utilization

Class of 2023

Chair

Jonathan C. Schmidt, PE

Vice President

AECOM

Email: jon.schmidt@aecom.com

Vice Chair

Ruth Lu, PE

Systems Manager East Region

WSP

Email: Ruth.Lu@wsp.com

Secretary

Joanna Pardini

Senior Engineer--Catenary Design

Amtrak

Email: joanna.pardini@amtrak.com

Committee 34 – Scales

Class of 2025

Chair

Damon A. Smith

Assistant Regional Engineer

CSX Transportation

Email: Damon_smith@csx.com

Vice Chair

Shawn C. Good

Sr. Director of Scale Services

Rail Scale, Inc.

Email: shawn@railscale.com

Secretary

David E. Gogolin

Superintendent of Scales

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: degogolin@comcast.net

Secretary

Joshua Marschke

Director Eng Standards

CSX Transportation

Email: joshua_marschke@csx.com

Committee 35 - Information Technology

Class of 2024

Chair

Robert W. Kramer

Technical Project Manager

Wabtec Corporation

Email: robert.kramer@wabtec.com

Secretary

T. Clayton Payne, PE

Director

The Burns Group

Email: cpayne@burns-group.com

Committee 36 – Highway-Rail Grade Crossing Warning Systems

Class of 2025

Chair

Shawn Hall

Assistant Director Signal Design

BNSF Railway

Email: shawn.hall@bnsf.com

Vice Chair

Dale R. Hill

Sr. Resident Project Manager

Alfred Benesch & Company

Email: dhill@benesch.com

Secretary

David C. Flores

Asst. Chief Engineer Signal Design

Keolis Commuter Services

Email: David.Flores@Keoliscs.com

Committee 37 – Signal Systems

Class of 2023

Chair

William D. Wiedmann

Chief Engineer of Comms & Signals

The Burns Group

Email: wwiedmann@burns-group.com

Secretary

Sarah Carrene Gilbert, PE

Sr Mgr - Signals & Communications

RailPros

Email: carrene.gilbert@railpros.com

Committee 38 – Information, Defect Detection & Energy Systems

Class of 2024

Chair

John D. Danyluk

Product Manager, Principal

MeteorComm LLC

Email: john@danyluk.com

Vice Chair

Spencer Furgeson

Engineer Systems Detectors

BNSF Railway

Email: Spencer.Furgeson@BNSF.com

Secretary

Paul E. Younger

President

Nebraska Signal Design & Support, Inc.

Email: paulyounger@epbfi.com

Committee 39 – Positive Train Control

Class of 2024

Chair

Mitchell Beard

Assistant Director Signal Design

BNSF Railway

Email: mitchell.beard@bnsf.com

Vice Chair

Carlos Aguilera

Signal R&D - Engineer Signals III

BNSF Railway

Email: Carlos.Aguilera@BNSF.com

Secretary

Dale R. Hein, P.Eng.

Rail Systems Manager

Hatch

Email: dale.hein@hatch.com

Committee 40 – Engineering Safety

Class of 2025

Chair (NV)

Matt Rossing, CSP

Vice President - Safety

RailWorks Corporation

Email: mrossing@railworks.com

Vice Chair

Adam Shepherd

Senior Operations Manager

National Railroad Safety Services, Inc.

Email: ashepherd@nrssinc.net

Committee 41 – Track Maintenance

Class of 2023

Chair

Keith Keene

Manager - Engineering Standards and Specifications

Amtrak

Email: Keith.Keene@Amtrak.com

Secretary

Perditha Sloan

Technical Track Manager

Metro North Railroad

Email: Sloan@mnr.org