Committee Leaders

Committee 1 – Roadway & Ballast

Class of 2024

Chair

Christopher S. Moale, PE

Senior Consultant

Engineering Systems, Inc.

Email: csmoale@engsys.com

Vice Chair

Eric J. Frostestad, PE

Sr Railroad Project Engineer

HDR

Email: eric.frostestad@hdrinc.com

Secretary

Michael Wnek

Principal Project Coordinator

Metro Transit

Email: Michael.Wnek@metrotransit.org

Committee 2 - Track Measurement and Assessment Systems 

Class of 2022

Chair

Matthew Dick, PE

Deputy Division Manager

ENSCO Rail

Email: dick.matthew@ensco.com

Vice Chair

Josh McBain

Solution Architect

BNSF Railway

Email: joshua.mcbain@bnsf.com

Secretary

Timothy Boland

Sr. Manager Engineering Systems

Union Pacific

Email: tjboland@up.com

Secretary

Lariza Stewart

Senior Project Manager

ENSCO, Inc.

Email: stewart.lariza@ensco.com

Committee 4 – Rail

Class of 2024

Chair

John Furlong

Director Track Systems

Canadian Pacific

Email: john_furlong@cpr.ca

Vice Chair

W. Brian Mullins

Mgr Rail Welding

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: brian.mullins@nscorp.com

Secretary

Anna Albers

Senior Engineer - Track

Amtrak

Email: anna.albers@amtrak.com

Committee 5 - Track

Class of 2024

Chair

Karen J. Horiszny

Project Manager II

Alfred Benesch & Company

Email: khoriszny@benesch.com

Vice Chair

Joshua Brass

Regional Engineer (Midwest)

CSX Transportation

Email: josh_brass@csx.com

Secretary

Donald H. Arant, PE

Vice President-Engineering

North Carolina Railroad Company

Email: donaldarant@ncrr.com

Committee 6 - Rail Facilities, Utilities and Buildings

Class of 2024

Chair

Ryan J. Gottsch, PE

Principal Project Manager/Transit & Rail Facilities Lead

Jacobs

Email: Ryan.Gottsch@Jacobs.com

Vice Chair

Alois J. Kostelnik, PE

Principal Engineer

ARCADIS

Email: Al.Kostelnik@arcadis.com

Secretary

Derek Brown

Manager Engineering

BNSF Railway

Email: derek.brown3@bnsf.com

Committee 7 – Timber Structures

Class of 2022

Chair

Christopher R. Frank

Public Projects Manager

Alfred Benesch & Company

Email: cfrank@benesch.com

Vice Chair

Stephanie E. Swanson, PE

Asst Dir Bridge Maintenance

BNSF Railway

Email: stephanie.swanson@bnsf.com

Secretary

Jonathan Winer, PE

Area Rail Program Manager

HDR

Email: jonathan.winer@hdrinc.com

Committee 8 – Concrete Structures & Foundations

Class of 2024

Chair

Jason C. Hale, PE

Asst. Director Bridge Inspector & Maintenance

BNSF Railway

Email: Jason.Hale@bnsf.com

Vice Chair

Paul B. Michiels, PE

Business Development Manager

The Reinforced Earth Company

Email: pmichiels@reinforcedearth.com

Committee 9 – Seismic Design for Railway Structures

Class of 2024

Chair

Steven R. Williams, PE

AVP Engineering

ARE Corporation

Email: swilliams@are-corp.com

Vice Chair

Sean Cooney, PE

Senior Project Manager - Rail and Movable Bridge

HNTB Corporation

Email: scooney@hntb.com

Secretary

Mark Giesmann, PE

NE/IA Freight Rail Structures Section Manager

HDR

Email: mark.giesmann@hdrinc.com

Committee 10 – Structures Maintenance & Construction

Class of 2022

Chair

Mark W. Shafer, PE

Senior Bridge Engineer

HDR

Email: mark.shafer@hdrinc.com

Vice Chair

Nila Abubakar, PE

Senior Consultant

Engineering Systems, Inc.

Email: nabubakar@engsys.com

Secretary

Michael Schaefer

Assist Dir Br Const

BNSF Railway

Email: michael.schaefer2@bnsf.com

Committee 11 - Commuter & Intercity Rail Systems

Class of 2023

Chair

Allene B. Rieger, PE

Sr. Civil Engineer

JMA Civil, Inc.

Email: arieger@jmacivil.com

Vice Chair

Amanda Kessler, PE

Manager Reference Surfacing

Amtrak

Email: amanda.kessler@amtrak.com

Secretary

Michael Fields

Principal Project Manager

Amtrak

Email: fieldsm@amtrak.com

Committee 12 - Rail Transit

Class of 2023

Chair

Scott L. Hudson, PE

General Director, Track Design

BNSF Railway

Email: scott.hudson@bnsf.com

Vice Chair

Peter W. Fedun, PE

Practice Leader, Rail & Transit

Urban Engineers, Inc.

Email: pwfedun@urbanengineers.com

Secretary

Lucas Reed, PE

Rail Operations Manager

Wilson & Company, Inc.

Email: Lucas.Reed@wilsonco.com

Committee 13 - Environmental

Class of 2024

Chair

Kari J. Harris

Mgr, Environmental Impact

CN

Email: kari.harris@cn.ca

Vice Chair

Peter T. Masson

Senior Consultant

Golder

Email: peter_masson@golder.com

Secretary

Matt A. Williams, PE, PMP

Senior Program Manager

Amtrak

Email: matthew.williams@amtrak.com

Committee 14 - Yards & Terminals

Class of 2022

Chair

Levi J. Turner, PE

Senior Associate

David Evans and Associates

Email: ljt@deainc.com

Vice Chair

Kirsten N. Bowen, PE

Vice President/National Freight Rail Lead

Michael Baker International

Email: knbowen@mbakerintl.com

Secretary

L. Brack Brown, PE

System Engineer Design

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: leslie.brown@nscorp.com

Committee 15 – Steel Structures

Class of 2023

Chair

Steven P. Lorek, PE

Railroad Division Manager

Alfred Benesch & Company

Email: slorek@benesch.com

Vice Chair

Ruth V. Brown, PE

Chief Engineer Bridges & Structures

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: ruth.brown@nscorp.com

Secretary

Gary S. Powell, SE

Retired

Email: gsphawk@comcast.net

Committee 16 - Economics of Railway Engineering & Operations

Class of 2023

Chair

Michael K. Couse

Roadway Worker Protection Services

Twin Cities & Western Railroad

Email: couse2835@comcast.net

Vice Chair

Timothy D. Robinson, P.Eng.

Transportation Supervisor

Canadian National Railway

Email: timothy.robinson@cn.ca

Secretary

C. Tyler Dick, PhD, PE

Lecturer and Principal Railway Research Engineer

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Email: ctdick@illinois.edu

Committee 17 - High Speed Rail Systems

Class of 2024

Chair

Jonathan M. Wnek, PE

Project Manager

RailPros

Email: jonathan.wnek@railpros.com

Vice Chair

Skylar M. Leach

Senior Engineer - Track Standards & Specifications

Amtrak

Email: skylar.leach@amtrak.com

Secretary

Daniel J. Seery, PE

Senior Trackwork Engineer

HNTB Corporation

Email: dseery@hntb.com

Committee 18 - Light Density & Short Line Railways

Class of 2023

Chair

Daniel Tegtmeier, PE

Project Engineer

Iowa Northern Railway Company

Email: dtegtmeier@iowanorthern.com

Vice Chair

Charles M. Tucker

Project Manager

Farnsworth Group, Inc.

Email: ctucker@f-w.com

Secretary

Lucas J. Brewer

Senior Project Manager

Bergmann

Email: lbrewer@bergmannpc.com

Committee 24 - Education & Training

Class of 2022

Chair (NV)

Ashley Pate

Business Development Manager

TranSystems

Email: akpate@transystems.com

Vice Chair

John G. Green, PhD, PE

Project Manager - Rail/Transit

Michael Baker International

Email: john.green@mbakerintl.com

Vice Chair (NV)

Ronald S. Pixler

Technical Training Officer

Canadian National Railway

Email: ronald.pixler@cn.ca

Secretary

Matthew E. Chrapek, PE

Structural Engineer - Maintenance of Way

Metro St. Louis

Email: MEChrapek@MetroStLouis.org

Committee 27 - Maintenance of Way Work Equipment

Class of 2022

Chair

Joseph Przybylowicz

Manager Work Equipment II

CSX Transportation

Email: Joseph_przybylowicz@csx.com

Vice Chair

Philip D. Bissette

Chief Engineer - Maintenance Equipment

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: philip.bissette@nscorp.com

Secretary

Matthew Albanese

Asst Chief Engineer

Metro North Railroad

Email: malbanese@mnr.org

Committee 28 – Clearances

Class of 2024

Chair

Joseph B. Boehle

AVP Marketing

Kasgro Rail Corporation

Email: jboehle@kasgro.com

Secretary

Greg McComas, Jr.

Clearance Manager

BNSF Railway

Email: gregory.mccomas@bnsf.com

Committee 30 - Ties

Class of 2023

Chair

Marcus S. Dersch, PE

Principal Research Engineer

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Email: mdersch2@illinois.edu

Vice Chair

Steven Melniczuk

Manager, Engineering Production

Amtrak

Email: steven.melniczuk@amtrak.com

Secretary (NV)

Ricardo J. Quiros Orozco

Rail Fixation Engineer

Voestalpine Railway Systems Nortrak

Email: ricardo.quiros@voestalpine.com

Committee 33 - Electric Energy Utilization

Class of 2023

Chair

Jonathan C. Schmidt, PE

Vice President

AECOM

Email: jon.schmidt@aecom.com

Vice Chair

Ruth Lu, PE

Systems Manager East Region

WSP

Email: Ruth.Lu@wsp.com

Secretary

Joanna Pardini

Senior Engineer--Catenary Design

Amtrak

Email: joanna.pardini@amtrak.com

Committee 34 – Scales

Class of 2022

Chair

Damon A. Smith

Assistant Regional Engineer

CSX Transportation

Email: Damon_smith@csx.com

Vice Chair

Shawn C. Good

Sr. Director of Scale Services

Rail Scale, Inc.

Email: shawn@railscale.com

Secretary

David E. Gogolin

Superintendent of Scales

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: dave.gogolin@nscorp.com

Secretary

Joshua Marschke

Director Eng Standards

CSX Transportation

Email: joshua_marschke@csx.com

Committee 35 - Information Technology

Class of 2024

Chair

Mike Weber

Signal Engineer

Modern Railway Systems

Email: mweber@modrailsystems.com

Vice Chair

Robert W. Kramer

Technical Project Manager

Wabtec Corporation

Email: robert.kramer@wabtec.com

Secretary

T. Clayton Payne, PE

Director

The Burns Group

Email: cpayne@burns-group.com

Committee 36 – Highway-Rail Grade Crossing Warning Systems

Class of 2022

Chair

Shawn Hall

Assistant Director Signal Design

BNSF Railway

Email: shawn.hall@bnsf.com

Vice Chair

Dale R. Hill

Sr. Resident Project Manager

Alfred Benesch & Company

Email: dhill@benesch.com

Secretary

David C. Flores

Asst. Chief Engineer Signal Design

Keolis Commuter Services

Email: David.Flores@Keoliscs.com

Committee 37 – Signal Systems

Class of 2023

Chair

William D. Wiedmann

Director Communications & Signals

Burns Engineering, Inc.

Email: wwiedmann@burns-group.com

Vice Chair

Leonard M. Wydotis

Global Product Line Mgr-Electro Mechan

Siemens

Email: lenny.wydotis@siemens.com

Secretary

Sarah Carrene Gilbert, PE

Sr Mgr - Signals & Communications

RailPros

Email: carrene.gilbert@railpros.com

Committee 38 – Information, Defect Detection & Energy Systems

Class of 2024

Chair

John D. Danyluk

Product Manager, Principal

MeteorComm LLC

Email: john@danyluk.com

Secretary

Paul E. Younger

President

Nebraska Signal Design & Support, Inc.

Email: paulyounger@epbfi.com

Committee 39 – Positive Train Control

Class of 2024

Chair

Mitchell Beard

Assistant Director Signal Design

BNSF Railway

Email: mitchell.beard@bnsf.com

Vice Chair

Carlos Aguilera

Engineer Signals III

BNSF Railway

Email: Carlos.Aguilera@BNSF.com

Secretary

Dale R. Hein, P.Eng.

Rail Systems Manager

Hatch

Email: dale.hein@hatch.com

Committee 40 – Engineering Safety

Class of 2022

Chair

Stephen Love

Manager of Inspection & Records

CSX Transportation

Email: stephen_love@csx.com

Vice Chair (NV)

Matt Rossing, CSP

Director, EHS and L&D

Loram Maintenance of Way, Inc.

Email: matthew.m.rossing@loram.com

Secretary (NV)

Adam Shepherd

Senior Operations Manager

National Railroad Safety Services, Inc.

Email: ashepherd@nrssinc.net

Committee 41 – Track Maintenance

Class of 2023

Chair

Keith Keene

Senior Engineer

Amtrak

Email: Keith.Keene@Amtrak.com

Secretary

Perditha Sloan

Technical Track Manager

Metro North Railroad

Email: Sloan@mnr.org