AREMA Functional Group Board of Directors

Senior Vice President

Profile Photo

Edward D. Sparks, II, PE

Senior Vice President - 2018-2019

Asst Chief Engineer of Structures

CSX Transportation

Email: ed_sparks@csx.com

Communications & Signals

Robin J. Aanenson

Functional Group Vice President – 2016-2019

Director In-Service Testing

Railroad Controls, a WABTEC Company

Email: raanenson@wabtec.com

Tommy A. Phillips

Director – 2018-2021

Chief Engineer- C&S Construction

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: tommy.phillips@nscorp.com

Profile Photo

Jerry W. Specht, EIT

Director – 2016-2020

Director of Signal Engineering

BNSF Railway

Email: Jerry.Specht@BNSF.com

Engineering Services

Trent M. Hudak, PE

Functional Group Vice President – 2018-2021

Director Engineering Services

BNSF Railway

Email: trent.hudak@BNSF.com

Michael A. Pochop, PE

Director – 2017-2020

Vice President

Hanson Professional Services Inc.

Email: mpochop@hanson-inc.com

Michael K. Williams, PE

Director – 2015-2019

Director, Industrial Engineering

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: michael.williams@nscorp.com

Maintenance-of-Way

Stephen J. Ashmore

Functional Group Vice President – 2017-2020

Engineering Senior Manager Ties and Roadbed

Union Pacific Railroad

Email: sjashmor@up.com

Matthew R. Porto

Director – 2018-2021

Workforce Management

Amtrak

Email: matthew.porto@amtrak.com

Richard J. Spatafore

Director – 2017-2019

Director of Program Construction (Ret)

CSX Transportation

Email: rjspatafore@gmail.com

Passenger & Transit

Raymond G. Verrelle, Jr., PE

Functional Group Vice President – 2016-2019

Deputy Chief Engr Electric Traction

Amtrak

Email: verrelr@amtrak.com

Francis J. Miller, III, PE

Director – 2016-2021

Northeast Rail/Transit Market Leader

STV Incorporated

Email: francis.miller@stvinc.com

Profile Photo

Keith L. Powley, CCM

Director – 2017-2020

Senior Rail Transportation Program Manager

WSP USA

Email: keith.powley@wsp.com

Structures

Michael P. Freeman, PE

Functional Group Vice President – 2017-2020

Dir Structures Design

Union Pacific Railroad

Email: michaelpfreeman@up.com

Ronald D. Medlock, PE

Director – 2018-2021

VP Technical Services

High Steel Structures, Inc.

Email: rmedlock@high.net

William S. Riehl, III, PE, F.SAME

Director – 2017-2019

VP Structures

Genesee & Wyoming Inc.

Email: bill.riehl@gwrr.com

Track

Profile Photo

Conrad Ruppert, Jr.

Functional Group Vice President – 2016-2019

Senior Track Technical Advisor

HNTB Corporation

Email: conrad.ruppert@outlook.com

David C. Clark, PE

Director – 2018-2021

Director Construction Engineering

CSX Transportation

Email: David_Clark@csx.com

Profile Photo

Kevin D. Hicks, PE

Director – 2017-2020

Assistant Vice President Engineering - Design

Union Pacific Railroad

Email: kdhicks@up.com

Executive Director/CEO and Corporate Secretary

Profile Photo

Elizabeth Caruso, CAE

Executive Director

Executive Director/CEO

AREMA

Email: bcaruso@arema.org