AREMA Functional Group Board of Directors

Senior Vice President

Profile Photo

Raymond G. Verrelle, Jr., PE

Senior Vice President - 2022-2023

Vice President Engineering Services

Amtrak

Email: verrelr@amtrak.com

Communications, Signals & Information Technology

Profile Photo

Jerry W. Specht, EIT

Functional Group Vice President – 2019-2025

Senior Director, Product Management

Wabtec Corporation

Email: Jerry.Specht@Wabtec.com

Jared Hopewell

Director – 2022-2024

Sr. Director C&S Operations and Digital Transformation

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: jared.hopewell@nscorp.com

Jeremiah McAndrew

Director – 2019-2023

General Director Signal Design & Construction

Union Pacific

Email: jjmcandr@up.com

Engineering Services

Profile Photo

Michael K. Williams, PE

Functional Group Vice President – 2021-2024

Sr. Manager Industrial Engineering

Norfolk Southern Railway

Email: michael.williams@nscorp.com

Profile Photo

Michael P. Atzert, PE

Director – 2022-2025

Project Manager

Burns & McDonnell

Email: mpatzert@gmail.com

Profile Photo

Cassandra M. Gouger, PE

Director – 2020-2023

Sr. Director Design

Union Pacific

Email: cmgouger@up.com

Maintenance-of-Way

Matthew R. Porto

Functional Group Vice President – 2020-2023

Sr Director Workforce Planning and Analytics

Amtrak

Email: matthew.porto@amtrak.com

Lawrence Fleischer, PhD

Director – 2020-2024

Director Process Safety

BNSF Railway

Email: lawrence.fleischer@bnsf.com

Profile Photo

Stephen C. Love

Director – 2022-2025

Technical Director

CSX Transportation

Email: stephen_love@csx.com

Passenger & Transit

Lucas A. Bathurst, PE

Functional Group Vice President – 2022-2025

Vice President

HDR

Email: lucas.bathurst@hdrinc.com

Profile Photo

Krista L. Keene, EIT, MSE, MBA, PMP

Director – 2021-2024

Director Real Estate – Utility Occupancies

Amtrak

Email: krista.keene@amtrak.com

Sean P. Kullen, PE

Director – 2022-2023

Senior Rail Engineer

VHB, Inc.

Email: skullen@VHB.com

Structures

William S. Riehl, III, PE, F.SAME

Functional Group Vice President – 2020-2023

Chief Engineer Structures

Genesee & Wyoming Inc.

Email: bill.riehl@gwrr.com

Ronald G. Berry, PE

Director – 2021-2024

General Director Structures

BNSF Railway

Email: ronald.berry@bnsf.com

Profile Photo

Mark W. Shafer, PE

Director – 2022-2025

Email: mwshafer.mws@gmail.com

Track

David C. Clark, PE

Functional Group Vice President – 2022-2025

Director Construction Engineering

CSX Transportation

Email: David_Clark@csx.com

Erik K. Frohberg

Director – 2019-2023

Dir Track Standards & Procedures

BNSF Railway

Email: erik.frohberg@bnsf.com

Patrick A. Halsted

Director – 2021-2024

VP Freight Railroads

HDR Engineering

Email: patrick.halsted@hdrinc.com

Executive Director/CEO and Corporate Secretary

Profile Photo

Elizabeth Caruso, IOM, CAE

Executive Director

Executive Director/CEO

AREMA

Email: bcaruso@arema.org